TW: Suicide, sexual abuse, trauma

There are four different types of love mentioned in the Bible: Agapé, Philia, Eros, Storge’.

For those not aware, here’s how these forms of love break down:

· Agapé is a principled love. Think of it as not knowing someone and loving them anyway because you live by a certain set of principles. I call it loving you because I’m compelled to.

Photo by Hatham on Unsplash

· Philia is a love based in friendship or among friends. I call it a chosen love. I love you because I want to not because I have to.

· Eros is a…

Let me start by saying that I’m not an advocate. Nor do I have a desire to be, for a variety of reasons that I won’t go into today. I’m not anyone special…well…maybe to my husband, my mom, and the few select derelicts I get to call my friends. I don’t even think I’m special to my dog. He just sees me as the only one who gets his meals right, gives him the belly rubs he needs, and picks up his poop. So, yeah. I’m nothing special.

I’m also not a victim. I’m not a survivor. Although I technically…

Mahogany Butterfly

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store